Art / Influence

Pumpkin Love

Polka Dot Superstar Yayoi Kusama is without doubt one of my favourite artists. She had an exhibition on at the Tate a few years ago which I was devastated to miss, so I was over the moon to hear that she was exhibiting in London again. An exhibition dedicated to her fascination with the Pumpkin at the Victoria Miro Gallery. The indoor exhibition was only shown for a short period, so I made sure I didn’t miss out again. I certainly wasn’t disappointed, I loved the new glitzy mosaic tiled pumpkins. They were the favourite part of the exhibition for me. But after watching Yayoi on the recent BBC Documentary, Polka Dot Superstar, I had a lot more admiration for her large-scale paintings too.

“‘Pumpkin head’ was an epithet used to disparage ugly, ignorant men, and the phrase ‘Put eyes and a nose on a pumpkin’ evoked a pudgy and unattractive woman. It seems that pumpkins do not inspire much respect. But I was enchanted by their charming and winsome form. What appealed to me most was the pumpkin’s generous unpretentiousness. That and its solid spiritual base”

If you are interested, I would recommend reading up about this truly inspirational woman. It’s often said that famous artists bare troubled souls and Kusama is no exception. Having battled with mental health issues for most of her life, Kusama has always used Art as her form of escapism and it has led her down the most interesting path.

Although the main exhibition has now ended, you can still find the bronze sculptures in the Victoria Miro Garden showing until the 19th December. IMG_3343IMG_3342 IMG_3351 IMG_3350 IMG_3345 IMG_3344IMG_3353 IMG_3355 IMG_3354 IMG_3356

Leave a Reply

