DIY / Home

Sofa Skin

So after many a month spent considering this bold idea, I finally decided to give my sofa some new skin. As I’ve mentioned in the past, all the furniture we own has been collected for free (or for peanuts) from around London in a Zipvan, sofa included. Once upon a time this sofa had been banished to the street and it eventually made its way to us via Ebay! It’s old skin was bright red, not a colour I favour much, and it seemed to take over the whole room. The fact that it was red just began to bug me after a while, so I hunted down some sale fabric in a dusky pink colour and went crazy with a stable gun!

I’m sorry I don’t have a tutorial for you, the thought of doing step-by-step photograph’s throughout the process made my head hurt because I wasn’t quite sure how I was going to tackle it. It was relativelyΒ straightfoward, the sofa is made up of four square shapes which I basically wrapped up like presents and stapled into place – easier said than done, I do realise this! For finishing touches I added some fresh cushions covered in the leftover fabric and made a centrepiece from myΒ knitted heart square. I’m so happy our trusty old sofa is no longer red!20140312-090501.jpg20140312-090532.jpg20140312-090506.jpg20140312-090527.jpg20140312-090512.jpg

One thought on “Sofa Skin

Leave a Reply

