DIY / Home

DIY: Paisley Painted Pottery

I am more than a little obsessed with ceramics at the moment, as you can see from my Home Sweet Home pinterest board, and have wanted to try out my own designs for some time. So when organising my sister’s family hen party I was pleased to find a lovely little pottery painting studio in the peaceful village of Bakewell.

Baked Well Pottery StudioΒ is situated within a quaint stone built courtyard with the upstairs available to hire for small groups, they were more than happy to accommodate a group of civilised hens too. On arrive at the studio you have the opportunity to choose what you would like to paint from a selection of pre-made ceramics, then you are free to spend the rest of the afternoon chatting, designing and painting your masterpieces.

I chose to paint two mugs in a simple blue paisley pattern, in between eating and catching up with the ladies of the family, it took me all afternoon to achieve this design and after a fiery finish in the kiln overnight they were ready to take home. I am very pleased with my first attempt at decorating pottery, now Nath and I can sip our tea in style…20131111-221455.jpg20131111-221502.jpg20131111-221510.jpg

Leave a Reply

