Art / Photography

Crossed Wires..

Maria Aparicio Puentes is an architect from Chile who produces artwork by combining photography with abstract embroidery techniques. The techniques compliment each other very well. Maria stitches through pretty grainy photographs with bright geometric stitching which reminds me of the spirograph designs I used to make when I was younger.

I would love to try this paper embroidery technique out for myself, I have free stitched onto paper using a sewing machine before, which looks great but it can be a bit erratic. I like the pattern and detail you can create when you have more control over your stitches.

There isn’t any piece I dislike from all of Maria’s work, they are so different and interesting.

6117267362_6b61faed15_b

6388316149_8de9560e2b_b

6040778235_9d0dbba0fa_b

6007638127_fb59917912_b

2 low

SONY DSC

6306737808_9b9139feac_z

One thought on “Crossed Wires..

Leave a Reply

