DIY / Home

DIY: Natural Beeswax Candles

I love candles and ever since I saw these ones made on A Beautiful Mess I have been meaning to give them a go. I am quite fussy when it comes to candle fragrance so the natural scent of beeswax sounded perfect for me! I followed Emma and Elsie’sΒ simple steps and had a lovely time making them..

Here’s how I made mine:

1. I bought my beeswax and 3m length of wick from Amazon and have been collecting a selection of jars, I also got a kind donation of pretty jars from my Mum when I recently visited the North. You will also need scissors and some tape..

DSC_4226

DSC_4240

2. Gently heat up your beeswax over the stove on a low heat. If you have a pan with a pouring spout I would recommend using it as it will make it easier for you to pour your melted wax..

DSC_4227

3. Whilst your wax is melting, cut a length of wick for your desired jar and tie a small knot at the bottom to weight it a little. When your wick is ready, pour a little wax into the bottom of you jar. Pop your wick into the bottom of the jar and hold into place until the wax has dried.

DSC_4242

4. Next take a piece of tape wide enough to reach across the jar and cut a little hole in the centre, thread the top of the wick through the hole and secure to the top of the jar. This will keep the wick in place allowing you to fill the jar to the top with wax.

DSC_4253

DSC_4257

DSC_4271

5. All you have to do now is wait for your wax to dry, remove the tape, snip down your wick and light it up! Simple!

DSC_4279

DSC_4288

Leave a Reply

